Yes, I think too much

You can call me “Eileen”

with 9 comments

Though this is my first post on this blog, it is not my first post ever by a long shot. This blog continued from a blog I wrote before called “Screaming Fat Girl“, which was about psychology and weight loss. The truth is though that there is a giant wealth of content I’m leaving behind in a digital digest, but it is a part of my real identity which I will continue to protect as the bias against overweight people is so strong that I’m afraid my success as a writer in other venues would be undermined by the knowledge that I am/have been very fat.

Since my identity is no longer wrapped up in my weight, I’m using my  middle name for this blog. It’s not exactly the “real me”, but it’s a little closer. The truth is that I don’t even like that name, but like many areas of ourselves, we have to “own” rather than deny even those things which we wish were different. Only by accepting the whole of ourselves can we begin to work with our weaknesses and find a starting point for change.

So, any readers who have come over from my other blog who knew me as SFG (Screaming Fat Girl) can now call me “Eileen”. It is my name, after all, just not the one I usually go by.

Written by yesithinktoomuch

September 12, 2010 at 10:51 pm

Posted in blogging

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations on all your changes, Eileen. Enjoy you art and the beauty of the world around us.

    LaniePainie

    September 15, 2010 at 10:26 am

  2. Thank you, Lanie. 🙂

    yesithinktoomuch

    September 15, 2010 at 10:56 am

  3. I have read an re-read many of your posts and so wish to continue to do so, if you choose to leave the archives open.

    Your journey, written here, has complemented mine along the way. I still strive for such peace with things.

    Thank you for your insight on so many levels.
    -Joyce

    phelpsvj

    September 15, 2010 at 2:01 pm

  4. Looking forward to hearing more about what you have to say Eileen..thanks for inviting us over.

    MIS

    September 15, 2010 at 5:17 pm

  5. Thank you. Your archives are important.

    I look forward to reading your writings in this new space.

    Sarah

    September 15, 2010 at 8:26 pm

  6. Thank you for keeping the archives open on SFG; they are gold. Also, thank you for the invite to come here.

    Melanie

    September 15, 2010 at 11:32 pm

  7. I like the way you write – not just the things you write about.
    Makes for a good blog. Thank you!

    anne h

    September 17, 2010 at 4:16 am

  8. Hello, Eileen! I am looking forward to reading your thoughts on new and exciting topics. And, I, too, will still be finding insights into your archives.

    Karen

    September 19, 2010 at 1:21 am

  9. Que pasa, Eileen? I’m glad to have found your new blog!

    Val

    September 22, 2010 at 9:34 pm


Leave a Reply

